IGNORED

Atari 400 advice...

EricDeLee

Atari 400... a guy I know has one with 'a bunch of games'

I've never messed with any Atari computers/400/800 etc. So I have no idea if it is something I should try to get or what. What are your opinions on price... and depending on what games comes with it... s the 400 worth grabbing? I have never played it so opinions would be great.

What type of games are good for it... etc

Yep... I've never tried it before. I figured if I can get it for cheap... I'll pick it up. The guy is a packrat and said he had a lot of the games for this. I know basically nothing about it. The quick research I've done so far has baically led me to this: Some people replaced the keyboard, other added RAM, and others added a reset button.

Aside from that... I don't have much info.

LOL

Atari 400... a guy I know has one with 'a bunch of games'

I've never messed with any Atari computers/400/800 etc. So I have no idea if it is something I should try to get or what. What are your opinions on price... and depending on what games comes with it... s the 400 worth grabbing? I have never played it so opinions would be great.

What type of games are good for it... etc

Hard to answer not knowing the configuration/condition of the machine or what games are included or how much money he wants, BUT, if it works, and it's cheap, and you like enough of the games to get your money's worth, go for it. This thing still works after 30 years -- chances are it will work for another 30.

That said, I'd be hard pressed to pay more than $20 for a working 400 with 16k (I only paid $99.99 for mine new back in the day). If your friend had working joysticks that feel good, they'd be worth $5 each. I think $5 for a cart I wanted would be right. I'd pay $20 for a working disk drive. $5 for a game I wanted on floppy.