IGNORED

Good RPGs?

Lord Thag

I was wondering if you all could give me some links to good Atari RPGs. I love the older style games. I'm well aware of Ultima, Apshai, and Alternate Reality. I've played Ali Baba and Gemstone Warrior. Are there any other RPGs that are worth playing on the 8-bits? My town seemed to carry very few back in the day.

i don't know of any RPG's since i am new to the atari thing, but i have the same question and would even like to ask you how Ultima, Apshai, and Alternate Reality are and if they are worth playing? sorry to hijack but it's something i'm curious about as well

Sure. Ultima is one of the higest regarded RPG series of all time. On the Atari, III and IV are the best, the latter being one of the best RPGs of all time in my book. The earlier ones are ok, but very dated. Check out Tempest's thread in the Classic Gaming General forum for an indepth look at this great old series.

The Apshai series is much simpler than Ultima, and there are a bunch of different ones (Temple/Upper Reaches/Hellfire Warrior/Curse of Ra etc). My recommendation is that you use the 'Temple of Apshai Trilogy' one, which is all of the earlier games in one bundle with much improved graphics and the ability (mercifully) to use a joystick to move. The games themselves are similar to Rogue or a very early Nethack. Dungeon crawling, basically. There is a final game called Gateway to Apshai which is an action oriented spin on the concept, and it is probably the best of them, kind of like a hybrid of Zelda and Rogue. I like them. They are good 'beer and pretzel' games where you just kick back and have fun.