IGNORED

Joystick Issues

Atari2008

Hey everyone,

So I just got my first 5200 about a month ago, and I'm really enjoying it so far. I got real lucky since the joysticks to seem to self-center, not sure why but I'm not questioning it. :) However, I plugged in the second joystick and found that the start button doesn't work. I tested it further using a 2 player game, and I noticed that not only does the start button not work but the joystick won't move to the right or down (it physically moves but the character on the screen doesn't). I've heard people joke that you're lucky to find two working 5200 joysticks, I see where it comes from now. ;) I'm not tech savvy at all and have never had to tinker around with any of my systems or their controllers, but I'm curious is there any sort of maintenance or very basic repairs I could try to do on the controller? Trying to save money, but if not, I'll send it in to a professional for repair (thinking of maybe Best Electronics, especially since they rebuild them). Thanks in advance for the input!

Hey everyone,