IGNORED

Multidimensional arrays in batari Basic ?

jrok

Hi everyone,

Just to quickly introduce myself, I'm a 32 year old multimedia designer and retro graphics geek with fond memories of the Atari 2600. I'm a self-taught, halfway-decent programmer in wimpy languages like Java and Actionscipt, but I sort of skipped over the "Basic" portion of my education. I've been using bB for about a week now, and its definitely the stepping stone I need to work my way into assembly (thanks, Fred!)

The game I'm working on is an adventure that requires screen-to-screen movement, with new rooms to be drawn by accessing segments of a data set, (which I imaginatively named 'gamemap'). In other languages this process is pretty simple to accomplish, but I'm running into a few problems in bB, since it doesn't seem like you can nest arrays.

In my code, I have a sets of fifteen values that describe how to draw a room and objects inside it, including things like the span of lines to draw and arguments that are passed to certain interactive objects of the playfield for use in the gameloop. In my posted binary, my sample room object is a Teleporter activated by the button, that sends you up or down depending on which floor you are on.

For example:

data  gamemap
137, 13, 85, 20, 12, 135, 138, 85, 20, 30, 31, 7, 2, 85, 45, //This is room 1 
end

drawElevator // This is drawing the elevator graphics in my program, and setting the animating portions to off
if gamemap[4]=12 then pfvline gamemap[9] 0 11 : pfvline gamemap[10] 0 11   
if gamemap[4]=12 then pfpixel gamemap[9] gamemap[11] off : pfpixel gamemap[10] gamemap[11] off
if gamemap[4]=12 then pfpixel gamemap[9] gamemap[12] off : pfpixel gamemap[10] gamemap[12] off 

gameloop

(...)

updateBackgroundOb
function tElevator
if x<gamemap[5] || x>gamemap[6] then playerTouching = 0 : yAdj = 0
if y>gamemap[7] || y<gamemap[8] then playerTouching = 0 : yAdj = 0