IGNORED

Assembler for the absolute beginner

Trooper

I posted this in the programming forum but perhaps more people will see it if I post here

I am, once again, going to try to get started creating some fun stuff for the old 8-bitters. It's been many many years since I last did anything on my trusty old Atari apart from playing games so I have a few questions.

I used to dabble a bit in Assemblerprogramming but this is so long ago that I see myself as an absolute beginner, I have some basic knowledge of BASIC

My questions are, what should I get to start on my career ( ) as an eight bit maestro assembler programmer?

What utilities, and above all, what books should I start with as an absolute beginner?

Hi, I'm interested in this too :ponder: I had a go using the assembler editor cart a few years ago but never had time to get very far, made a blob move round the screen and then didn't know what to do! ... I found a couple of "First Steps in Assembly" type articles in the old Page 6 and Atari Users magazines that were quite good (available on the page 6 site and here in a recent post respectively).

Cheers

p.s. just remembered it was you who beat me at Gumball in last years HSC... hope you r gonna play this year!

Edited by therealbountybob

if you want to go native programming I would use:

- Turbo Basic XL

- Mac/65 or Bibo Assembler or MAE

but most of us are not coding native on the machine so I definitly vote for

- MADS cross assembler (mads.atari8.info)

- Atari800 or Atari800win or Atar++ as dev emulator

additional tools are

- RMT - Raster music tracker for PC

- G2F - graphics conversion and creation tool

for editing source codes: Notepad++

I would second Heavens advice above.