IGNORED

Atari 1050 Disk Drive Help!

blazintomato

Hi everyone -

I'm totally new to Atari, but recently wound up with a pair of 800XL's and a single 1050 Disk Drive that a professor of mine was about to throw away. In any case, the 800XL's both turn on and boot to BASIC just fine, and operate from there without a hitch, and they can both load cartridges without any problems. The 1050, however, acts strangely. When I turn it on, the power light comes on, and the busy light turns on too, and you can hear the drive spinning for a moment. It stops spinning and the busy light turns off after a second or two, but then, a little while later, will come back on and the disk drive starts spinning again. And then it stops again, and starts again, and keeps doing that. I've tried turning it on with and without a disk inside of the drive, and it doesn't change this behavior. When used with either of the 800XL's, before the word "Ready" comes up in BASIC, there's a noise that I think was described here as "farty", which from what I understand is an error code? What I'm trying to figure out is whether this is a problem with the SIO cable, or if something is mechanically wrong with the Drive, and if so, what I can do to fix it. Thanks a lot for your help!

"farty" noise from atari before ready shows up is normal - if drive would not be connected

and if act like this and is not responding on commands send by computer (farty noise) then it could be everything - check rom chip first, pull it out and put on again - may help, won't hurt

Edited by candle

Hi,

Make sure the drive selection switches are set to Drive 1. The computer won't boot a disk if it is not set to Drive 1.

I believe the both the black and white switches have to be in the left position.

Fuji-Man

Hi everyone -