IGNORED

My Homebrew Game called Earth Invaders

disjaukifa

Hey Guys,

I am working on a Galaxian/Space Invaders game which I am hoping to improve on some aspects of both games. I thought I would start a thread to kind of show my work in progress. First let me say I am VERY new to Atari 2600 programming and Batari Basic. Also I am a Mac user, so I am not able to use a lot of neat tools that seem to be available for windows which is fine by me. I am working almost purely in terminal with vim as my editor.

I have attached what I have so far. I am trying to figure out how feasible it will be to program my ship to fire two missiles at the same time, I think it will be easily done with missile0 and missile1 but I am not to that stage yet. I literally just got the first missile to fire correctly (Took me the better part of the last 3 hours . . . stupid || instead of && ) I'm really happy with what I have so far, I have a lot to add to get this game finished, but I am enjoying almost every minute of it.

I have attached the binary!!! I know this is not much but for 4 hours of work in a language and system I have never programmed for before I am very pleased with what I have accomplished!!!! Seeing as its almost 3am I am going to log off. Tomorrow I am going to list my goals/objectives I want to complete in this game!!!

Thanks guys

Disjaukifa

earth_invaders.bin

Don't forget to include screenshots as you go along. Some of us don't develop for your platform of choice but still like to see what your game looks like.

Thanks for that info, I didn't think of adding screen shots Here are some screenshots. Again this is the very basic, I haven't gotten a a lot done, and this is my first game in basic.

Screen%20shot%202009-09-19%20at%201.20.27%20PM.pngScreen%20shot%202009-09-19%20at%201.20.49%20PM.png

-Disjaukifa

Edited by disjaukifa

Ok,