IGNORED

The Southsider - My Personal Top 10

RSS Bot

Like most people on AtariAge, I have been playing computer games for a long time, since the late 1970s. However, I have always been more interested in how games work, rather than the games themselves. I tend to play each game for a short time, until I have figured out the mechanics and mastered the controls. Once I know that I can beat the game, I tend to lose interest and move on. Every now and again though, a game comes along that I really enjoy playing. These games hold my interest long after I have mastered them, and I tend to return to them again and again. I have created a list of these games below, together with a brief explanation of why I find them so fascinating. So, in no particular order, here is my top 10:

1 - Dungeon Master (Atari ST)

blogentry-6563-125760340817.png

I tried hard to get into role-playing for a while. I played D&D, AD&D, Warhammer, Cthulhu, etc. However, every game inevitably descended into arguments over distance measuring, rule interpretations, and personal skills (i.e. typical nerd arguments). Dungeon Master was the first game that captured the pure dungeon-crawling experience for me, without all of the petty squabbles. I was instantly hooked, and I packed away my dice forever.

2 - Super Mario Bros (NES)

blogentry-6563-125760343196.png