IGNORED

Poly bags to protect game cartridges?

I'd been thinking about trying this but I was wondering if anyone stores their carts in poly bags? I like to keep my loose carts (ie all of them, I don't keep them in boxes, even if I own the box.) on shelves for display and ease of selection. Also, it saves a lot of space, which is at a premium as it is. But I think about how the lables and connectors are always exposed to the air and dust.

I was thinking of picking up some different sized poly bags to protect them but I was wondering if it's worth the hassle. Nothing I own is particularly rare, but I like to keep things nice.

I figure they would have to be a fairly tailored fit in the bags. Not so tight that they would have to stretch the bag to get it on, but not so loose as to look sloppy either. I'd also want to be able to still read the end lables, so they would need to be very clear as well.

Any thoughts?

Yes, I have been doing this for about 5 years or so. I got the bags from atariguide.com along with the small dessicant packs. The way I do it, I put the cart in, end-label first, so it's at the already-sealed end of the bag so you can still read the label through the bag. Then, I put a dessicant pack in, sort of tucked into the end of the cart that goes into the console (to enable them to lie as flat as possible on their ends or sides for that matter).

I feel that it's crazy not to do this. Now note, this is only my opinion, and there are good reasons not to (I'll get to that below), but if you think about the fact that any humidity in the air is a major contributing factor to label damage over time as well as to corrosion of the metals in the cart, then I think it's the only way (that I've thought of) to keep carts in as good of condition as possible. For this same reason, I don't keep carts inside their boxes (except when the boxes are sealed, obviously).