IGNORED

Rarity Guide Update Questions

voiddweller

The changes are sporadic. Usually they are driven by discussions on AtariAge, and we usually solicit opinions for some time before making a change. For example, we just changed Quadrun and we have a few others in mind that we may change. You will see it updated throughout the year.

Also, we frequently update the database with new games as they are released (such as homebrew games), or in the case of prototypes, discovered. It's always a "work in progress", and there are many other items that change, such as adding new cart, box or manual scans, additional staff information, perhaps fix a model number for a game, new external links for a game, and so forth.

..Al

Hi,

Thanks for the replies.

I'm still very new to this scene, so please bear with me for a few moments :)

I have been watching auctions on EBay and Yahoo!, while looking at the Rarity Guide. I was hoping to make associations between price and availability to help with buying, selling, and trading transactions.

In some cases there is a direct correlation, in others, there is not. I knew this from the beginning, as most auctions and trades are dictated by the wants and desires of the people bidding/trading (infinite variables), but I've noticed a disparity in the guide.

This is only a recent observation, but there appears to be a resurgence of interest in the 7800 ProSystem and games. Based on some Ebay samples, the console and standard versions of the NIB games: Rampage, Commando, and Tank Command are fetching prices that seem higher than the Rarity Rating may suggest. This made me think that I may be interpreting the Guide differently than it was intended or it may be out of date.

This led to a few questions:

1. If something appears more rare to me and (may or may not) appear rare to other collectors and enthusiasts, what is the proper forum to discuss observations and see if a change in Rarity is warranted?