IGNORED

New collector

Sputnik

Hello I am Sputnik I am new to the Atari consoles and these forums. I am about to begin collecting games of course but I needed to know something first. 2600 or 7800? I'm not sure which one to get so I was wondering if someone could tell me what is better. Also I was wondering which games to start off with in my collection. Please tell me what you think I should get.

have a look at the top 100 2600 games at Atarimania

as for the 7800, there are loads of great games, especially the homebrew games. Can't rate Pac Man Collection highly enough!

my fave 7800 games are:

Asteroids

Space Invaders (homebrew)

Pac man collection (homebrew)

Ms Pac man

Centipede

Joust

Tower Toppler

Xevious

Donkey Kong (the sound is horrible but the gameplay is great. Looking forward to the POKEY enhanced version becoming available)

• Like 1

Welcome! I'd go for a 7800 as already recommended. The 5200 is a good machine but it needs an adapter to play 2600 games. The adapter is not easy to find and you have to have the right 5200 model for it to work. With the 7800 you can play the 2600 games without adapters plus you get the 7800 library of games.

You could start with a 7800 as it allows you the experience of the best of both libraries. As for games, most of the best games are the easiest and cheapest to find. I'm sure there are many here that would be happy to hook you up with some really great common games for a good price. Just post in the "wanted" section of the marketplace. Good luck :)

Edited by AtariLeaf

Welcome to AtariAge! Just a word of advice before you start rolling out the cash for systems and carts. Have a look at the game library before buying and ask yourself, "will i play these games or collect these games?" If your here to play then try them out via emulation first to see if you enjoy the library of games, I dont mean the whole list, but try some 7800 and the better 2600 games and then decide.