IGNORED

Controller building help for a 5200.

anakedg

Hey guys, I just got a 5200 a few weeks ago and I love it. Problem is that of the controllers I have one is completely shot and one is intermittent at best. I have previously posted in another thread and kinda started to junk it up so here I am starting my own for advice on constructing a controller.

Basically I have no experience of the sort making electronics. I can solder, but have limited experience and would probably have a problem working in small spaces. I have basically no electrical knowledge as far as some of the diagrams i see on here and stuff are hard to understand. I think that I could learn its just a bit overwhelming trying to find a place to start, and im not sure I quite grasp the analog to digital aspect.

My 5200 is a 4 port model if it would make a difference and here is what I would like to do. I want to build a controller that has an arcade joystick, 3 arcade buttons (for start pause and select), and a keypad. I was thinking of making this about the size of an arcade stick you would get for current generation fighting games, but perhaps a little wider. I was thinking I could acquire the joystick and buttons from some sort of arcade component supply store online, not sure about the encasement i would put it in or the keypad though. Upon looking for joysticks and to a lesser extent buttons there seems to be a variety of types and I have no idea what im looking for, im assuming an 8 way joystick, but am unsure. Also I have heard mention of 15 pin female connectors that stay into the 5200 being hard to find, can I use the cord connection from an existing, non-working controller for this?