IGNORED

7800 questions

eric648

Hello, I am very new to Atari consoles and I just bought my first 7800. I do have some questions about it:

1. Is it normal for the cartridges to "stick" in the console? They are a pain to get in and even worse to get out.

2. What options are there for video output without modification?

3. How do you open cartridges? I ordered a copy of Dig-Dug and it seems that the internals have shifted and the pins are not in their proper position. I think I could fix it if I could open the cartridge, but I don't want to break anything.

Its normal for them to be a little tight, but you should't have a real hard time with it. Some games are made with thicket plastic it would seem. If its with every game you might just want to make sure there isn't extra "gunk" on the slot. If its just a few games compare them to others, they might just be the thicker cases.

I have a question too though for others that will read this. What is the expansion port on my 7800 used for? I know they don't all have it and thats all I have really found out about it.

The cartridges shouldn't get stuck. Some will be tighter than others, but they should not stick like that. You should check the cartridge guide cup around the connector to see if it's cracked and maybe grabbing on a corner of the carts or something. You can probably just file it down a bit.

Video out options:

1 - the regular coaxial cable to switchbox the 7800 came with.

2 - a direct RCA to COAX adapter from Radio shack:

RCACOAXMF.Blarge.jpg

3 -Mod it and never look back.

As far as opening the cart - there should be a screw hole under the label in the center of the cart. It's a Phillips head screw. You will have to ruin the label to remove it.