IGNORED

2600 cart blanks?

TheShanMan

I'd like to get some "blank" carts - a cart with socket that will allow me to burn games, drop the chip into the socket, and use in my 2600. Does such an item exist for sale somewhere? I would think so but I haven't found anything yet (maybe I don't know where to look since I'm new to the 2600 hobby - my main hobby is collecting classic arcade games btw). Wouldn't matter too much if it's a DIY kit or pre-assembled. Would be nice if they came with enclosures but I'll take what I can get. EPROM's not necessary - I like to keep a supply of 2732's (and others) anyway.

I'd like to get some "blank" carts - a cart with socket that will allow me to burn games, drop the chip into the socket, and use in my 2600. Does such an item exist for sale somewhere? I would think so but I haven't found anything yet (maybe I don't know where to look since I'm new to the 2600 hobby - my main hobby is collecting classic arcade games btw). Wouldn't matter too much if it's a DIY kit or pre-assembled. Would be nice if they came with enclosures but I'll take what I can get. EPROM's not necessary - I like to keep a supply of 2732's (and others) anyway.

I got one of those off eBay a while back. It is homemade as hell, but it works. I see them now and again for sale, but I have no idea how one is made, nor would I know where to find the socket. I would be happy to post pics if you want to see one.

You might try and ask CPUWIZ. He has been very helpful to me since I joined and has answered many similar questions. Best of luck!

This is very cool. I'm not new to working on circuit boards, but I've never had boards made. If I just want to get a handful done, what's the best place from a cost standpoint on getting it done? Or is it only practical in higher quantities?

How about cartridge shells? Have those been reproduced by anyone?