IGNORED

Controller ports on the front of a 2600

HatefulGravey

How hard does this have to be. It would seem I could just run wired from the points on the board to the front of the case, mount the controller ports there and cut the case to fit the ports through the front. Could it really be that "simple"?

Also, how should I cut the plastic? I have never tried it before but I would think a dremel or something like it would just melt the plastic and screw things up.

Is the port the 2600 uses something I can buy in a panel mount form? I know the AES uses a port that has a standard for other things as well, so you can use panel mounts for those controllers (normally for super guns). It would be nice if I could find something like that for the 2600 as it would be easier to mount them like that then to make a mount from scratch to mount the ports solid inside the case.

You could save yourself all the hassle and buy a 7800 which has them at the front already then you get the best of both worlds ;).

I don't care to use the 7800 to play 2600 games. Mostly the angle at the front of the 7800 makes switching difficulty no fun for me. There would also be something to getting this mod done right. I'm going to add a pause mod and AV outs to this console as well. I thoght why not just mod the hell out of one console?

I know you can buy nine-pin connectors with metal collars that include a pair of screw points on the sides that you can basically panel-mount. The only issue is the collar can 'cut into' the joystick connector's outer corners in the process.