IGNORED

Atari XL Power Supply Issues

Pilsner73

I have two Atari 800xl rebuildable power supplies in need of help. One is the long black brick, the other is the white and brown brick. http://www.myatari.com/ebay/psxl.jpg the two to the left side of the picture.

The black brick is putting out according to my multimeter 11 instead of 5. What are the possible causes/remedies? I'm a novice but am not afraid to learn btw.

The white/brown is putting out 5.32, seems a bit high is there something I should check/replace also?

Thanks!

I have two Atari 800xl rebuildable power supplies in need of help. One is the long black brick, the other is the white and brown brick. http://www.myatari.com/ebay/psxl.jpg the two to the left side of the picture.

The black brick is putting out according to my multimeter 11 instead of 5. What are the possible causes/remedies? I'm a novice but am not afraid to learn btw.

The white/brown is putting out 5.32, seems a bit high is there something I should check/replace also?

Thanks!

http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic/178058-testing-atari-xlxe-power-supplies/

I'll remind you of our discussing this before. :) You have to test them under load or the readings will always be too high. If the DC voltage runs high, it's because the voltage regulator inside the box is bad or failing.

Thanks!

http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic/178058-testing-atari-xlxe-power-supplies/

I'll remind you of our discussing this before. :) You have to test them under load or the readings will always be too high. If the DC voltage runs high, it's because the voltage regulator inside the box is bad or failing.

I know the one is outputting way high, and the other one seems a tad high. The really bad one the computer won't even turn on correctly because of that, just wondering what parts I need to check/replace and where to get them. The 5 volt lines are reading 11volts which is not good.

Edited by Pilsner73