IGNORED

Adventure II 5200 talk

Cafeman

I suppose I will address this here. Nice new forum!

If anybody could help me out with some general Adventure thoughts, I'd appreciate it. I want to keep certain things the same in this 5200 update, but I'm really not an expert on the original in many ways.

For example, the three dragons. I believe that each may have slightly different behavior, yet I can't explain what that is. Anybody want to summarize what exactly is different about the three? Like, why is Rhindle the most ferocious of all? (other than he is!)

It seems to me that you can bump into a dragon 2 times, and its only counted as a bite. The 3rd time you are eaten. When you hit reset, it seems that not everything is truly reset in the game -- is this true?

I'm wrestling with scope here too. Since I can build a bigger kingdom, I must be careful not to make it too big. It must be able to be beaten in one sitting if you know how! So, how long does it take for you guys to beat Quest 1 2 and 3 usually in Adventure?

Any idiosyncrosies (sp?) you'd care to relate?

BTW, we originally had Armor in this game, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to axe it.

The red dragon is slightly faster than the other two and does not pause for very long between "bites" it seems...the yellow dragon wimps out at the sight of the yellow key. That's probably the extent of the differences.

And the number of times it bites you is irrelivant...since the ball needs to be in a specific location to be "eaten". This is best demonstrated by pressing downward against a lower wall (the dragon cannot eat the ball).

Hitting reset during a game simply places the ball back at the yellow castle (changing four bytes...room #, x/y, and object held) and revives any "dead" dragons (one byte for each). All objects remain where they are since the game does not jump back to the initial routine.