IGNORED

Was there ever a single game released on cartridge for the ST?

I presume in 1985 when it was built that the cartridge port was there for more than just sound samplers or memory resident improved BASIC interpreters but I have no knowledge of a single prototype game on cartridge for the ST.

Could it be they never intended to put games on cartridge for the machine and it was literally a fancy expansion port they just labelled as a cartridge port?

Games, I don't think so but could be wrong.

The whole concept of cart port was kinda dubious, probably a hangover from the initial intention to have 128 and 256K models.

It was crippled by fact of no write line and only having something like 128 or 256K address range but of course bank switching could help there.

But in the end, some totally non-purposed devices made use of it, so I suppose it ended up being an OK idea. Of course an expansion bus like the Amiga 500 has would have been infinitely better.

Let's see... there was a Practical Peripherals cartridge that had a battery backed up real-time clock and also a pass-thru cartridge port, there were some scanners that used the cartridge port, there was an EPROM burner cartridge, there were video devices that used the cartridge port and some audio sampling cartridge of sorts, and then there was the MagicSac. Although I as an owner never used the cartridge port, obviously others did.

I remember having the clock card...can't remember who put it out though...seemed like it had another function too, but I don't remember what.

Let's see... there was a Practical Peripherals cartridge that had a battery backed up real-time clock and also a pass-thru cartridge port, there were some scanners that used the cartridge port, there was an EPROM burner cartridge, there were video devices that used the cartridge port and some audio sampling cartridge of sorts, and then there was the MagicSac. Although I as an owner never used the cartridge port, obviously others did.