IGNORED

Fatal Out Run

YANDMAN

A couple of weeks ago it was being discussed on here about possible racing games that could be converted to the 7800 possibly to utilise the new XM, Well iv'e been playing quite a bit of Fatal run lately and i wondered could this game not be hacked into a really good racer? Now i have no programming knowledge so what im saying may not be possible but from an observation point it appears to have all the ingredients.

The dash display on the bottom of the screen is excellent and far exceeds the likes of rad racer on the NES, Two of the enemy vehicles are a Ferrari testarossa and a Porsche 911 with another resembling a Jaguar xj220, I'm assuming that you could mod these sprites to be the controllable cars?

The game already has a good feel of speed but with a few added road side details, trees, Signs this could be greatly improved, The engine note isn't great but it isn't bad obviously the extra xm power could put something great into place.

Remove the weapons side of the game but keep the mid race upgrades for all the normal items , tyres, engine etc.

The in-between level looking out the car window but is awesome and should remain but just maybe remove the deceased headstones and add more waving people.

Well that's pretty much it, As i said i have no programming knowledge so i have no idea how hard this is or if its even possible but it just seemed to me that this has a lot of good ingredients and a great starting base for a hack, It was the detail on the Ferrari testarossa sprite that made me think......Out Run!

Well it would be awesome if one of the talented programmers here took this on or at least i think so.

Yan

It sounds a cool idea but I don't know what really should be done with Fatal Run.

To me the game has many things but it's boring. That's the main problem and I don't have a clear idea of what it needs.

I think the races are too long... the side view from your car should be shorter too.