IGNORED

Error 144 when I copy a disk using a 1050 drive

joelm

First off, for those who aren't familiar with me, I am new to the Atari 800 but not to Atari consoles. I am a relative noob with these computers and so it is possible I am not understanding something with how DOS 2.5 works. At any rate, I am trying to make a copy of a commercial SSI game disk, so I don't have to risk the original. I use the "Duplicate Disk" command, I believe option "J", and I go through identifying the source and destination drive (I only have one drive so I use "1,1") and then it prompts me to insert the source disk. When I do this it hums along for about a minute then generates Error 144 and prompts me to return to the DOD menu. I looked Error 144 up and it seems it can mean that I am trying to write to a protected disk, etc., or there is an issue with drive speed. I'm not sure what to think about the error becuase I have copied other disks (included DOS) without issue. Does anyone else have thoughts on this? Perhaps a trick or two to get around it? Or should I just plan on using the original disk for gameplay and not worry about a backup copy? Thank you ahead of time for any help you can provide.

It's probably a copy-protected disk.

Error 144 is pretty generic, covers all sorts of things:

Drive door open, no floppy present, write protected, sector not found, sector unwritable, sector bad CRC, sector unreadable, wrong track ID, and probably a few others.

Likely the game is available as a cracked version online but then you need a SIO2PC type interface to be able to transfer it from the PC.