IGNORED

Atari 8-Bit Assembler?

Draugr

Hi,

I just won an auction for a new copy of the Atari Assembler Cart. It is a new copy in its box with the manual. What I want to know is the following.

If I want to start programming in Assembler on my 130XE what else should I get? I saw that there was an Atari Macro Assembler program. Is that needed? I have experience programming in BASIC and Turbo Pascal 7.0 for MS-DOS as well as some C++ experience on a PC. I never used Assembler before but, would love to try it out and who knows maybe create a game some day. :) So, if anyone could recommend any other Assembler related items I should look to get that will help me along with the actual Assembler cart I won on eBay, I'd appreciate it.

Finally, can anyone recommend a good book or site that will teach Assembler for the Atari 8-Bit systems to a novice? As I said I have some programming experience, but nothing in Machine Language or Assembler.

Thanks

John

Hi,

I just won an auction for a new copy of the Atari Assembler Cart. It is a new copy in its box with the manual. What I want to know is the following.

If I want to start programming in Assembler on my 130XE what else should I get? I saw that there was an Atari Macro Assembler program. Is that needed? I have experience programming in BASIC  and Turbo Pascal 7.0 for MS-DOS as well as some C++ experience on a PC. I never used Assembler before but, would love to try it out and who knows maybe create a game some day. :) So, if anyone could recommend any other Assembler related items I should look to get that will help me along with the actual Assembler cart I won on eBay, I'd appreciate it.