IGNORED

Best way to design DPC+ playfields?

RiverRaider73

The visual bB playfield designer worked great for standard kernel games, but I've been playing with DPC+ and it's a lot more difficult to use as the playfield sizes are much larger and the entire image won't fit on the screen while designing. Does anyone have any tips, tricks or experience for doing this? Or is the best plan to just type out periods and X's? Sorry, I'm a complete noob! Thanks for the help!

Well, there may be a better way than this, but here's how I do it. First I just type out a field of the "periods" (88 x 32 or something like that?) into a text box in Photoshop and change the font to something monospace like Courier. Then I stretch the text box horizontally so it's the same dimensions as what the game should probably be.

post-39533-0-69716200-1470374216_thumb.png

Now everything fits the screen and when I start to replace "periods" with "X's" I should easily be able to see what's going on; the dimensions of each "X" is similar to the dimension of each pixel. I think your main issue is that the built-in editor is tall and skinny as opposed to short and wide...if that makes any sense. I'm sure there's a 'normal' way of doing it, but this is how I pull it off. Anyway, I don't know if this is what you meant, but I hope this helps!

• Like 1

I just tell the editor in VBB to be the size of the background I'm going to make. When you get into large backgrounds it can be odd. Things get really skinny and then appear wide when on screen. When starting with Street Fight World I used massive backgrounds which ate up room so there was nothing left for characters. After scaling things down I was happy with twenty-two row screens.

• Like 1