IGNORED

Need Help with Ultra Satan Peter Putnik Drivers

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the ST community and I've recently acquired a nice 1080 STE. Last fall I installed a Gotek in place of the ST's floppy drive. Soon I realized I really wanted a modern hard drive solution. Fortunately, I then received the Ultra Satan --minus the pre-formatted SD card-- as a gift.

Allow me to share a ridiculous self-imposed problem I experienced setting up the Ultra Satan's SD card under Windows10. 

I was unable to use Putnik's disk image program named DRIMG135 to write to my SD card. The process of setting up the SD card for the Ultra Satan requires destroying the master boot record on the card and then installing the file 15MB.IMG , with the quite necessary autoboot driver for Ultra Satan. 

PROBLEM:

My PC is Windows10 which prevents me from writing his ZEROS.img disk image file to destroy the master boot record on my SD card. Smaller SDs do not have the properties/security tab needed to enable permissions. All I get is 'Access Denied" when I attempt to use the Drimg135 disk imaging program. I am logged in as Administrator yet Win10 does not seem to care?

FIX:

- Peter helped me figure out that by first right clicking on his program Drimg135, then selecting "Run as Administrator" was necessary, even though I was logged into Windows10 on the system administrator account. Simply running Drimg135 (without "Run as Admin") resulted in multiple ACCESS DENIED messages and a failure of the program to initialize/erase the SD card. Also, this left me unable to load the autoboot loader software. Something to note if you order his drivers and are not familiar with this Win10 security issue. 

E0B436EF-8FC9-420B-B8AC-E205BF0C957C.thumb.jpeg.d2dd423a34d27f7fd2008a88fbe75cf9.jpeg