IGNORED

8-bits in the present day.

pmitch_3m

Okay, I have an 800xl, Two 1050s, a 300 baud modem, and a old dot-matrix printer(which I'm sure is broke). I've had the system since I was in grade school. Buying it piece by piece with allowance money. I used to mess around with it everyday until the wee hours of the night....geeking out on BBS's(TAP, Part-time, Bloom County) and various games(loved Bruce Lee, Archon, Goonies and AR). Anywho, I'm 31 now and my 8-bit sits dormant. I would love to bring it into the present day and make it a part of my everyday life, much like my PC is now. I am far from a programmer and have lost what little knowledge I once had of the 800xl. Besides gaming, what can I do now with my trusty xl? What do you do with yours? How can I reeducate myself on this powerful little machine and bring him into the present day?

late,

p

Okay, I have an 800xl, Two 1050s, a 300 baud modem, and a old dot-matrix printer(which I'm sure is broke).  I've had the system since I was in grade school.  Buying it piece by piece with allowance money.  I used to mess around with it everyday until the wee hours of the night....geeking out on BBS's(TAP, Part-time, Bloom County) and various games(loved Bruce Lee, Archon, Goonies and AR).  Anywho, I'm 31 now and my 8-bit sits dormant.  I would love to bring it into the present day and make it a part of my everyday life, much like my PC is now.  I am far from a programmer and have lost what little knowledge I once had of the 800xl.  Besides gaming, what can I do now with my trusty xl?  What do you do with yours?  How can I reeducate myself on this powerful little machine and bring him into the present day?

late,

p

I'd recommend a trip to the ACEC Swap Meet in Columbus at their September meeting. You'll be sure to find an excellent resource base, and I'm sure that someone will be on hand to help you with any questions that you may have about modding your various pieces of equipment.