IGNORED

Sources for Midi files

I wrote a XB256 run-and-gun platform game for fun (for the pleasure to remember me many happy years 80 souvenirs using my ti-99/4A).
Very few things remain to do, mainly adding a background music. I am a poor composer (not to say catastrophic ? ) so I tried to find royalty free (one voice) midi music , style adventure , playable in loops and that doesn't consume a lot of memory ( 2Ko of free memory remain) , but all that I found is complex musics, very long or that become unusable when converted in one voice.
Do you know a website that could propose what I am searching?
Thank you by advance for any suggestion.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Converting from MIDI can be a source of significant frustration, just given the unsuitability of the format to PSG music, and its indifference to the constraints of developing music for SN76489/TMS9919.  Even having developed something of an automated conversion solution of my own (for taking three-voice MIDI and turning it into a list of CALL SOUND commands), I come away from these experiences mainly concluding that just taking music (quite potentially a MIDI) as source material, and translating it into PSG music manually with a good SN76489 tracker is the way to go. Especially given that the key tricks which really make SN76489 music sound good are things which a MIDI source itself will absolutely never contain. 

If you'd like some prebuilt BASIC music to work with, I created a collection of my favourites (many also feature graphics) here.  It's an XB autorun disk, and will present a menu of included music:

PPMUSIC.dsk

And more generally, here is a very large collection of Sam Moore Jr. music:

Sam Moore compilation disk.DSK

Obviously, these are not in any formal sense "royalty free".  But some are classical music, and thus largely free of copyright concerns on that basis. 

• Like 6
  • Thanks 1

Before all thanks for the answers, the time you spent to find music files.