IGNORED

Game Idea: Fade Out

salstadt

Hey all,

Like I mentioned in my other post, I'm by trade a GBA artist, but I'd love to get into the Atari hobbydev scene now that I know it exists. So I'd like to go ahead and start designing/illustrating a game (I have a pretty original idea that would work well on the platform) but I could use some general advice on limitations (size, animation frames, sprite count, color count, etc).

I'd imagine Atari art (I'm aiming at 2600 specifically) and what can be done depends on the talent of the coder. But I'm looking for some limits that would be reasonable to stay in for my art, to ensure that it has a likely shot at working.

So, for very very broad reccomendations, what limits should I stay behind for:

- Sprite dimensions

- Sprite colors

- Number of sprites onscreen

- Background colors

- Animation frames

- Screen resolution

Or if 2600 code doesn't really work like that, any info anyone could provide on how I should be limiting myself would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

- Adam

From what I know of 2600 program code I am scared to go near it, but I think overall you're thinking too much in modern terms. Granted, there are elements of what you're talking about in programming games for the 2600, but it's really a lot more low-level than that.

I've gathered that most 2600 programming is basically about figuring out how to draw the scanlines on the screen as the program code runs and then doing whatever processing you need to do in a small number of clock cycles to keep the picture from rolling.

Okay, here's where I get ripped into. ;) Going on the same res as Pitfall and the general idea of low-color, 8x16 sprites displayed at 2:1 and a background displayed at 8:1, I came up with this:

stickrun.gif