IGNORED

Troubleshooting an Atari 800XL that loads cartridges, but won't boot to Basic

Howdy!  This is my first attempt at repairing an 8-bit computer, so I'm definitely learning and having fun.  My goal is to get this unit running without throwing parts at it, so I'm trying to actually diagnose the faults, and come to conclusions based on what I find.  But I need help with good next steps.  Please let me know if there is any other information I can provide to help!

Here's the TLDR:  

Boots to gray screen with square cursor, but never ready's up. Single tone and fuzzy noise play.  All chips socketed, cleaned, reseated. U9-16, U2, and U7 look to be replaced as they're a different sheen than the rest of the chips. Using Sam's Computerfacts and logic probe shows errors on U2, U22, U17, U23, U19, U24-25. Installed cap kit. Option / Start / Select keys work with cartridge games, and register logic but won't boot to test.  Using original PSU and 5vdc seems strong throughout the board. Randomly booted correctly once but many/most keyboard keys were incorrect. Randomly booted to self test once and I wasn't sure what all was happening...

Longer version:
Found a socketed chip with a bent leg, and MMU had corrosion on it. Everything else was clean, but got brushed super clean. 

U2, U7, and the right half of U17 all get hot after a while.

Used to boot to a jarbled / yellow screen with vertical lines, but adjusting R38 fixed it

I played a full game of Joust with a controller just fine.

Logic Probe errors are as follows:

• U2 - pins 10, 12, 13, and 14 are High when they should be pulsing. Seems they go to C50 and C52 but I can't find those on the board...
  • U17 - pin 16 and 17 are floating, 16 should be pulsing, 17 should be high. Both pins have continuity from top of chip through bottom of board. 
  • U19 - pin 5 is floating, should be pulsing
  • U22 - pin 25 should be high, but it is pulsing
  • U23 - pin 23 should be pulsing, but is high. Also said to go to C52.