IGNORED

SM124 Monitor

Hello all

I just wished to ask some advice please? I have an ST520 FM which I used at music college in the mid 1990's to run Cubase 3.1 Score. I recently got it out of the attic and bought a colour monitor and a SM125 monitor to run Cubase to set up my retro music room again. Unfortunately the 125 died.... input cap I have read and not a difficult fix  .. but I don't have the skills to fix it, so I managed to find an SM124 at a great price. I know that you should turn on the monitor first and switch off last...but I have a monitor master switch unit... 

My question is.... can the Monitor Master cause strain on the voltage going into the monitors when switching between them? Or is it just a passive switching device? 

I only use the ST for Cubase really.

Thanks for any advice guys, I am not a tech person. 

Cheers 👍 

• Turn off the computer first.
  • Press the button on the Monitor Master to switch monitor.
  • Turn on the computer again.

I don't recommend pushing the button on the Monitor Master while the computer is on to switch monitors. I see no circuitry inside that makes it look like an "intelligent" device. The only device off the top of my head that did allow this was the Astra SW-1. 

Thanks for the advice guys, it is really appreciated. It could well be that I switched the ST on first mistakenly after a couple of beers which blew the input Cap, DOH! 🥰 As I said, I am just a thick musician! 

I think to be on the safe side I will just put the Monitor Master aside for now and follow the correct on/off procedure in future when I get the SM124. I think I won a good bid for £30, the guy seems really genuine and has 100% eBay rating for his Atari store.

Having a few problems setting up an HDD I bought a while back. It is an aftermarket 200mB jobbie but it does work fine and the ST recognises it.