IGNORED

HDD setup for ST

Smithers

Hello all

I just wish to ask advice please.

I used Cubase Score 3.1 at music college in the mid 90's with a 520 STFM which I had upgraded to 4mB.

Recently I took it out and put it all back together with an SM124, works lovely.

Couple of years ago I bought a hard drive for it, not an Atari one, it is big white metal box that looks aftermarket, I was assured by the seller it is genuine and 200mB. It powers up and is recognised by the ST but I do not have the skills or knowledge to make it work or be able to transfer my Cubase programme or any other of my Atari floppy discs to it now.

I downloaded a great guide from an Atari expert regarding the HDD installation but it is 69 pages long and very complicated. It talks about initial partitioning and formating, I understand the terms and theory but it all does my head in, I am a simple musician 😅

Does anyone have a little simple step by step guide to setting up the HDD for a layman?

Any advice really appreciated.

Cheers guys 😉👍

Smithers

43 minutes ago, TGB1718 said:

When you say the ST recognises the drive, what do you mean by that ?

What hard disk driver are you using, you will need one with it's utilities to partition and format the drive.

Though before doing that, it might be better to see if there is already something cool on it that should be preserved for future generations.

(Bought quite a few Atari HD's on eBay that still had something on them.... no goldmines yet, but there is always hope).

1 minute ago, Smithers said:

I have the installation floppy disc and have used it. Err sorry I will give it another try and get back to you, thanks for the help Cheers 👍

Well, I think what he's getting at is....

If you put the disk in and it boots, and the drive shows up during the boot, that's step 1.

After that, the question is, when you get to desktop, do you have a "C" drive icon?  If so, and you double click it, what happens?