IGNORED

Question about Player/Missile graphics and International Karate

oky2000

Now I am no expert but as I understand it you have 4 players at 8 pixels wide and up to screen height and you can combine 4 missile graphics to make a 5th player. So effectively that gives you 5x8 pixels per scanline if I am understanding this right. For a long time I thought players were 16 pixels wide but looking it up on info it seems this is not correct.

The fighters on International Karate are much bigger than 16 pixels wide, they look the same size as on the C64 port to me more or less. So how did the late, great Archer do International Karate on the Atari 800 via the PM hardware, or is it not just PMs to draw the fighters?

Probably also worth checking out the IK+ conversion - the backdrop pics in both games are just as worthy as the softsprite techniques.

It's a mix of PF and PMs to achieve more colour - at the time the backgrounds in IK were leading-edge, very few programs bothered to attempt such methods to achive more colour, the most popular thing being the done to death cheap rainbow effect you get by incrementing a register per scanline.

Edited by Rybags
  • Like 2

Thanks for the info guys. He was indeed a very talented A8 game designer, playing IK you would think it was a pair of 16 pixel wide PMs as I always thought but even more impressive now I know that's not the case, so I guess they are expanded monochrome players giving 16 pixel width. I bet when doing Jimmy White's Snooker for ST/Amiga he was thinking about how the A8 would do it, it was his favourite machine AFAIK.

Used to play both his A8 games on my friend's 800 and 800XL back then. 

I did see a few videos of IK+ for A8 pop up. With 3 fighters it is very impressive for the A8 I thought, hence the question here.