IGNORED

The 1050 Repair Saga continues: Drive #4 on the bench now...

SlagOMatic

I'm continuing my learning process of repair/refurb/upgrade on my 1050s -- three complete, one on the bench (and the subject of this post), one waiting on the shelf. I'm not an electrical engineer. I've been learning as I go, mainly through YouTube videos and the kind folks here.  🙂

Initial symptom was it would power up (got the power LED) but it wasn't seen by the computer and the drive wouldn't initialize at power-up or spin if the lever was turned down (the busy LED would not turn on). As I did with the other three I disassembled it, pulled the five chips out of their sockets, give the board a bath in the ultrasonic cleaner, rinsed with distilled water, rinsed with 99% IPA, dried, removed all the caps and regulators, tested new caps and regulators, installed new caps and regulators, reinstalled the five chips, double-checked all my work, connected everything, and tested -- and got nowhere. The drive still wasn't seen by the computer and the drive wouldn't initialize at power-up or spin if the lever was turned down. Since I now have known-good drives to test against I verified that the mechanism wasn't at fault; connecting Drive 4's mechanism to my known-good board let the drive spin, so that's definitely an issue on the board. I went over the whole board with a magnifier to see if anything obvious stood out but found nothing. Many YouTube videos pointed me towards several diodes and resistors that are known to have issues; I tested those and they were good.