IGNORED

800XL Rev.D Rebuild

deffroe

I have just added the last few components to my eZcontents 800XL motherboard.  Just the IC's to insert in to the sockets and ready for the big turn on(oo er Mrs).

The only issue is....I'm scared😒, Is there a minimum amount of chips that will allow a boot, or, any tips, guidance etc to do before I pluck up the courage to flick the switch?

Thanks

Phil

I would (but I am not an expert) remove all vital chips (anything that cannot be easily sourced new) and turn on empty for a quick some test, before that I would run with a multimeter around the board to check for shorts on connections that certainly should not have one (for example pairwise between all address and data lines). When on I'd check the voltages on the chip powering pins. 

Not sure what else...

Anxiety subsided for now.  Looks like I missed a couple of IC replacements.  So probably be weekend at earliest that I get to stress again :).

2 minutes ago, woj said:

I would (but I am not an expert) remove all vital chips (anything that cannot be easily sourced new) and turn on empty for a quick some test, before that I would run with a multimeter around the board to check for shorts on connections that certainly should not have one (for example pairwise between all address and data lines). When on I'd check the voltages on the chip powering pins. 

Not sure what else...

Thanks Woj,  This is pretty much the plan but thought there maybe some chips that need to be in to start getting voltages.

Phil

6 hours ago, deffroe said:

I have just added the last few components to my eZcontents 800XL motherboard.  Just the IC's to insert in to the sockets and ready for the big turn on(oo er Mrs).

The only issue is....I'm scared😒, Is there a minimum amount of chips that will allow a boot, or, any tips, guidance etc to do before I pluck up the courage to flick the switch?

Thanks

Phil