IGNORED

Atari 130XE yellow screen issue

runstop

Hey everyone! I've just started my journey with Atari 8bit computers lately (I've had a 600XL sitting in my closet for close to 20 years, but I just got a 130 and an 800XL). My 800XL works like a treat and I've installed an ultimate video in my 600xl and that is awesome. However, my 130Xe boots up with a yellow screen. I've been trying to figure out what might be wrong with it with no luck. I'm sure I'm missing something obvious.. 

According to https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1248642/Atari-130xe.html?page=47#manual it might be U27, U1-U9, U12, or U13. So.. I swapped out every ram chip with TMS4164's (tested in my little ram tester), swapped the SALLY, Antic, GTIA, OS and BASIC roms with known good ones from my 600 (and tested the 130xe chips in the 600 to be sure), swapped the MMU over as well. I'm not really a hardware expert so I've just been following datasheets and trying to figure out the issue with my cheapo aliexpress oscilloscope, but no luck so far. Anyone have an idea where I should look next? The Freddie chip maybe? I would have to source one first. 

Thanks!

You say you have swapped out ic's. Given the XE boards are not socketed from factory had you socketed it yourself? If so with the exception of ram chips did you socket the others ic's in turn, checking after each any changes? 

Reason I ask is it's never good practice to go and socket multiple chips then test. You might have introduced an error, (especially if not used to working with a soldering iron or with these pcbs). Much harder to find the cause(s) if you have. 

My first port of call for a yellow screen would be checking ram, cpu, OS rom, and MMU. 

Also if you have socketed double check as much as you can your solder work? 

What type of sockets were used? 

Also are the ram chips Mt branded? They are notorious for failing. 

Can you post images of the top and bottom of the PCB? 

Also, where are you based!? 

Edited by Beeblebrox