IGNORED

800XL screen background color

c1ph3rpunk

Have an 800XL that I picked up that wasn’t working so I ordered RAM, GTIA and ANTIC chips to see if one of them remedied the issue. Put in the new memory chips and it immediately came up to BASIC, so I know what that issue was. I’m completely new to the Atari world and was wondering: what color should that screen background be?

The reason I ask is this, I wanted to check the GTIA and ANTIC chips I purchased to see if they were actually working, however the GTIA I received produces a different background color than the one that came with. The original chip background is green, the replacement one is black. I went back to look at the original listing for the 800 and it didn’t state NTSC or PAL, I’m not sure which is it and haven’t found reliable ways to determine that. At least, my guess is it’s an NTSC vs PAL difference, maybe. Both chips have the same part number, C014805, the original one is -31, the new one is -01, perhaps that’s it though they’re different manufacturers.

Ideas and pointers most appreciated.

Hello,

It should be a medium blue screen with a black border around the edges.  The text should be white.  If the colors are off, the first thing I'd try is to adjust the color pot.

Another question is:  How is your 800XL connected?  If it's through the RF connection, you should have all colors.  If it's an unmodified 800XL, and you are using the monitor connection, the colors will be off and the picture will probably look horrible.  Before I added the chroma fix, to the monitor port, the screen was grey with a hint of blue and rather fuzzy.

Looking at your part number, it appears that you have an NTSC chip.  So, I guess you have an NTSC computer.  PAL computers have a sort of blue with a slight hint of green look.

There is a picture of what your screen should look like here:  http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari-400-800-xl-xe-basic_13284.html

Best Regards,

Brian

1 minute ago, c1ph3rpunk said: