IGNORED

2600+ Paddle lag

Redrum237

Been having fun playing kaboom and breakout with the paddles. But sadly the lag is noticeable. I do have an Atari 2600 from back in the day and you can see and feel a difference when playing.

Im wondering if the lag is something that could be fixed in a future update?

Newbie here. But, my money would be on frame interpolation on your TV, which goes by various names like “True Motion” etc…

That causes a noticeable lag as the TV tries to create and insert sub-frames, making the image lag behind the controller considerably.

17 hours ago, J2600 said:

Newbie here. But, my money would be on frame interpolation on your TV, which goes by various names like “True Motion” etc…

That causes a noticeable lag as the TV tries to create and insert sub-frames, making the image lag behind the controller considerably.

That’s a worthwhile point. Gane mode on my Sony OLED doesn’t disable “MotionFlow” or “Reality Creator” or whatever other nonsense, so I’ll turn those off and see if that makes a difference.

Update: nope, still jittery. I notice it’s more pronounced when you’re trying to do small movements and in a game like Breakout you need a wee bit of finesse sometimes…

Edited by Sean_1970
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Sean_1970 said:

That’s a worthwhile point. Gane mode on my Sony OLED doesn’t disable “MotionFlow” or “Reality Creator” or whatever other nonsense, so I’ll turn those off and see if that makes a difference.

Update: nope, still jittery. I notice it’s more pronounced when you’re trying to do small movements and in a game like Breakout you need a wee bit of finesse sometimes…

Worth a try. 

I was thinking from a lag standpoint, rather than jitter. Jitter sounds more like an A/D conversion or precision thing to me. If the 2600+ mainboard is noisy that could contribute also.

Edited by J2600
  • Like 1