IGNORED

Atari 800 repair and restoration - advice needed!

Hi Everyone,

I recently sourced an Atari 800 from eBay, as I have wanted to own one for quite some time.  I started out with an 800XL as a kid when they were first around, and after revisiting Atari hardware in recent years, I felt it would be great to have one of the original Atari 8 bit machines in my collection.

Soaring prices have put me off previously, though the one I purchased recently was sold as faulty at a reduced price, so I thought it would be a great project to use some of my knowledge to hopefully preserve it.

So far however, I have made limited progress as I have no direct experience with an 800, and no spare chips to swap in to rule out damage to those.  I do have various 800XL and 600XLs however if there is any cross-device compatibility and worth trying changing any IC's across.

It would be great however if anyone here with better experience of faults on an 800 may be able to help me focus down on the issue from my description here:

The unit was provided with an incorrect power supply, which was for at Atari 1027 printer, part : CO 61605-34

It was rated at 8.5V , 4.2A AC

I am aware that this was connected previously by the seller to attempt to power the machine.

I've now sourced a 9.0V 2000mA AC supply which I believe is correct for the machine.

So far I have only been able to see either a black screen or distorted lines and bars.  If I adjust the potentiometer on the CPU card, I see different colours in the output.

I've cleaned the boards as best I can and from casual troubleshooting, I've found no obvious visible damage or dead traces anywhere, so I suspect component or chip failure somewhere.  

Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated.