IGNORED

When buying - things to look out for

Decar

Hi everyone. I'mon the hunt for my first Vectrex system, and I'm quite excited by the prospect of owning such a unique machine.

I'm not opposed to doing maintenance, but would like to avoid it for as long as possible if I can.  Ebay prices are really sky rocketing at the moment; are there any tips for a newbie that I should be looking for?  I don't really want to drop a lot of money on a unit that pops in 20 minutes.

Is there a good guide for things to look out for when making a purchase? (I did try and google).

Is there a quick way to check alignment for example? Is alignment even a good way to gauge the health of the console?

I think Bedlam is quite a common game. So I'm wondering if I should ask to check that the  screen blast line up with the overlay for example?

What sort of things do you check before making a purchase?

Thanks a lot

• 2 weeks later...

A great question, and I am no expert.

I bought my Vectrex in person at PRGE last October from The Brewing Academy.  The price was no bargain, but looking at prices that Vectrex sell for online, it was more than fair.

I wanted to see the unit power up, and provide a stable image as it warmed up.  That's hard to do if you are not in-person.  The alignment on mine is not perfect, but looking at the forum posts, adjustments are reasonably simple, and for me for now, the misalignment is quite modest and not something I am motivated to try to perfect.  It doesn't affect game play in games like Clean Sweep.  Maybe in Star Castle one of the shields occasionally clips the wrong color band, but okay.

I was surprised by the buzzing.  Its normal for most Vectrex units.  I had played one back in the 80s and either I don't remember the buzz, or the UK units were later and fixed.  I don't know.  I ended up fitting a "Buzz-Off" mod which greatly improved my enjoyment of the platform.