IGNORED

NEWBIE - Atari 400 Power Adapter CO 14319

Hello:

NEWBIE here. I recently received an Atari 400 with the original power adapter (CO 14319). The system was listed as "no power". I bought it to learn how to repair an Atari 8 bit computer since I have been repairing Commodore computers and peripherals. The power adapter is dead (tested with multimeter).

I've been reading online that these power adapters have an internal fuse that can be replaced. Or perhaps that refers to a different model for the 400. I don't know. Anyhow, can this model be opened (and if yes, how?), and can the fuse be easily replaced (soldering is acceptable)?

It looks like where the foot pads were (I removed them), the factory poured some melted plastic or rubber compound to seal up access to the screws or rivets.

If this model can't be repaired, is the one being sold on 8-bit Classics https://www.8bitclassics.com/product/atari-400-800-1050-ac-adapter/ safe to use? I've read one post about someone having some power level concerns about this one.

Any help is appreciated!

Thank you!

Joe

13 hours ago, CAJoeG said:

Hello:

NEWBIE here. I recently received an Atari 400 with the original power adapter (CO 14319). The system was listed as "no power". I bought it to learn how to repair an Atari 8 bit computer since I have been repairing Commodore computers and peripherals. The power adapter is dead (tested with multimeter).

I've been reading online that these power adapters have an internal fuse that can be replaced. Or perhaps that refers to a different model for the 400. I don't know. Anyhow, can this model be opened (and if yes, how?), and can the fuse be easily replaced (soldering is acceptable)?

It looks like where the foot pads were (I removed them), the factory poured some melted plastic or rubber compound to seal up access to the screws or rivets.