IGNORED

My first flash cartridge prototype

Kroko

This is the first version of my flash-cartridge prototype:

flashproto1_0.jpg

Is supports 1K,2K and 4K, F8, F8SC,F6, F6SC, F4, F4SC, FA, E0 and finally 3F up to 512K

The rom images are downloaded from the PC with a serial cable.

Before I can realease this device, I would like to get a bit of feedback on a few subjects:

:arrow: I need a name for this device :-) Any suggestions are welcome ....

:arrow: I don't have a cheap source for empty atari cartridge cases. Is anybody able to help me with getting cheap empty cases ? I thought about one million copies of ET...

or so :D

:arrow: I am a terrible artist (most engineers are ...hehe). Would you like to help me to design a nice label ? What is the label material and who can print them ?

:arrow: There is a bit of empty space on the CPLD. I have also working VHDL Code for CV,FE,F0 and E7 (Rom only) bankswitching. But I don't want to actually program it into the CPLD. I would like to use the empty space a bit differently: We have a 128K SRAM chip. I would like this RAM to be available for programming. In theory I could enhance the 3F bankswitching to support RAM. We could call it 3F+. 128K/256 that would be 256 blocks of RAM each with a size of 512Bytes which would be mapped into the first 1K of the cartridges address space. (512 bytes write port and 512 bytes read port). A write to 3F selects a 2K Rom slice into the first 2K of the cartridge. A write to 3E could select a 512Byte RAM slice into the first 1K of the cartridge. So the first 1K could be either ROM or RAM, dependent on what address you were last writing to (3E or 3F). What do you programmers think about this. Would this RAM-Slice size be good, or should I make it smaller, lets say 256 slices of 256Byte .....