IGNORED

Newbie question: how to load a game

Senbei Norimaki

Hi everybody,

I'm new at 8-bit Atari computers, I got an emulator and some game files.

No problem loading games that come in .atr files, but if they are .exe I don't know what to do.

With that other 8-bit computer I used to own when I was a child the command was "LOAD "SOMETHING",8,1"... now I need to discover what's the command for Atari computers.

Thanks,

Senbei

Which ATARI emu do you have?

In A800 Win PLus you simply go to file -> load executable, and choose your exe, com or xex file in the file requester (sorry for calling them file requesters, I come from the Amiga world), this should do the trick.

On the real ATARI it is similar:

Ataris with built-in BASIC (XL, XE):

To load from cassette, you first boot your machine into BASIC, then wind the tape to the correct position (the tape counter is your friend), then you press PLAY (the tape won't start).

Now you enter:

POKE 580,1

This switches the RESET key from NMI to REBOOT.

Now hold down START and OPTION and press RESET (still hold down Start and Option).

You will hear a buzzer, after that buzzer release START and OPTION, then press an alphanumeric key or RETURN or SPACE.

To load from disk:

With your computer turned off, insert the disk, hold down OPTION and then switch it on. Release OPTION when the drive begins working and when you hear "bebebeep-beep-bebebebeep" sounds out of your speaker.

If you are in BASIC, enter POKE 580,1.

Then hold down OPTION and press RESET, when the drive begins working, release OPTION.

On Atari 400/800:

First remove all cartridges.

To load from tape, hold down START and switch on your computer. You will hear a buzzer. Wind the tape to the correct position (counter is your friend), press PLAY and then an alphanumeric key or RETURN or SPACE.

To load from disk, simply insert the disk and turn on the computer.

Senbei,