IGNORED

Value of Homebrews vs Prototypes

NovaXpress

Here's a hypothetical question for those in the classic gaming business:

Let's say that I had the skills and talent to put together a decent 2600 game (ha!). Let's say that it was developed without anyone else from the classic gaming community knowing about it. So if I was being an unscrupulous mercenary, which of the following would make more money: releasing it as a homebrew through the usual methods or claiming that it was a prototype from the classic days and selling it as such.

I have no knowledge of, and make no accusations, against the current protos floating around. This is just something I've wondered about for awhile.

I think that there are enough knowlegable and talented programmers here that pulling something like this off without one of them busting you would be very difficult. I'm certainly not one of these people, which is why I don't buy prototypes.

-S

I think the obvious guess would be the proto since you're dealing with an entity from "back in the day" which may have more worth to certain people. But then again with some of the quality homebrew's in mind, you might be able to ride off the backs of of those successes..

If you have the skills to put together a convincing prototype, then you have the skills to earn money at a REAL programming job which will earn you a hell of a lot more money than a fake protoype ever will. ;) It would be one of the most unproductive scams in human history.

Plus in a way, what you are selling IS a prototype, you just are faking the date it was made, and taking no credit for the several hundred hours of work it took to produce it. What's the point?

Cheers!

Seriously, it's getting quite ridicilous, every newbie is given a frigging retina-scan and anal probe lately and every time somebody says they have something that other people don't, they get questioned and scrutinized beyond belief.

This statement from a prior topic poses the situation as best as any.