IGNORED

'Nother NewB Q: Best Trackball?

kencrisis

OK,

So 5 days back into the 2600 world I'm feeling like further reclaiming my youth and getting all the crap my parents would never, ever buy me.

My next idea is getting a trackball for Centipede and Missile Command. I've seen the Atari CX80 and the WICO one for sale. Are there others I can look for, and which one is the best? And why do you think it's the best (longevity, real-arcade feel, etc.)?

Also, what other games are trackball-friendly?

Hmmm ... I haven't seen the one with the triangular buttons. Can anyone point me to a link that shows this.

Also, I apologize for not searching this forum before posting this. From what I read, it looks like Missile Command doesn't really work with a trackball? There's some kind of hack? Is this a separate cartridge that's available? Sorry for the stupidity, but as the title of my original post states, I'm a totally ignorant newbie.

Hmmm ... I haven't seen the one with the triangular buttons. Can anyone point me to a link that shows this.

Also, I apologize for not searching this forum before posting this. From what I read, it looks like Missile Command doesn't really work with a trackball? There's some kind of hack? Is this a separate cartridge that's available? Sorry for the stupidity, but as the title of my original post states, I'm a totally ignorant newbie.

The "big triangular buttons" is the CX80. It is essentially an updated version of the CX22, but where the CX22 had round buttons located a couple of inches in from each of the top corners, the CX80 expanded the buttons into roughly trangular shapes to reach the top corners, and made them flush with the unit making them harder to miss and rather more aesthetically pleasing.