IGNORED

Are there any plans for Lynx to be playable on GBA SP?

EricDeLee

Are you sure, TailChao? I've heard that there is a real SNES emulator in the works for GBA. I've even seen some screenshots of the thing running. Now, no offense to the Lynx or anything, but it's certainly not up to par with the SNES in terms of power. Not that i'm an emulator writer or anything, but I can't see the Lynx hardware as being harder to write for.

Just my first two cents in the Lynx forum, hehe. :D

I think that a reasonalbly playable Lynx emulator could be developed. The screen size is fairly close, the resolution is pretty low, and of course, only 16 colors can be displayed simultaneously(well...in most cases, anyway...). Granted, my knowledge of the Lynx hardware isn't that good(notice the lack of clarification on the res and screen size). What i'm trying to get at is that the hardware requirements aren't nearly as demanding as, for instance, the SNES emu.

Then again, I really don't like my odds when debating with a Lynx developer... ;)

Given the fact that the GBA was just barely appear to keep up with getting a good Atari 2600 emulator (Activision Anthology), making a LYNX emulator for the GBA might be mission impossible. It would be too slow to be playable.

Given the fact that the GBA was just barely appear to keep up with getting a good Atari 2600 emulator (Activision Anthology), making a LYNX emulator for the GBA might be mission impossible. It would be too slow to be playable.

Part of the reason why the Atari 2600 is so hard to emulate on the GBA is due to the way the Atari 2600 games were programmed. The GBA is far more capable of emulating the NES than the 2600. I don't know the technical stuff behind that claim; I'm just repeating what I've heard on this board.

I remember back when my PC at the time (which was much more powerful than a GBA) was barely able to run a 2600 emulator, yet NES games (through Nesticle) ran fine.