IGNORED

Lookin' for some help in starting up my 2600

edahsallad

I'm a newbie to this board, and I'm looking for some advice in getting my 2600 hooked back up and working after being in my parents closet for ever.

I have everything but the power cord to plug in to the wall. I'd like to go to the local Radio Shack and get a cord but I don't know what voltage this thing needs. Any ideas??

Thanks in advance for any help. :D

Dallas

Wow, thanks for all the help so far. I got the plug from Radio Shack. I now have it hooked up but I can't get a good picture on the tv screen. I can barely see the game and the picture is constantly moving downward on the screen. Guess it's broke huh? :?

Dallas

OR you can go to radio shack, get a 8 AA holder and a 9v connector, take a headphone jack, cut it, solder the hot of the headphone jack to the hot of the batteries and the ground to ground... AA's last a long time =D

Wouldn't that be 6 AAs in series? (1.5v x 6 = 9v) And do AAs have the necessary amperage? (I'm actually not sure what amperage alkalines can deliver)

I don't think it's broken, far from it infact. How old is the tv does it have a  

V.hold adjust ( I think thats what its called). And the weak and fuzzy picture, I'm sure that some one else can help with that.

Are you using a normal TV/Game Switchbox to hook the Atari up to your television? If so, I suggest going back to Radio Shack and buying one of these:

rca_coax_adapter.jpg

This is a Coaxial (F-type) to Female RCA Adapter, and assuming they still sell them it's Radio Shack part #278-276. If not, we sell them in our store here. Using one of these in place of a switchbox will generally net you a much better picture. Also, if you're using channel 2, try channel 3 or vice versa (making sure you select the correct switch position on the Atari).

Good luck!

..Al

cool, cool, cool!!! :D