IGNORED

programming fundamentals

no attack

I'm fairly new to the Atari 800XL and I've been delving into some programming for the past few weeks. I've found the books on atariarchives to be very helpful, but there's a certain amount of common knowledge/terminology that's assumed, especially as it relates to computer architecture.

For example, I'm not familiar with terminology like stack, stack pointer, high and low bits, 1k and 2k boundaries, buffers, and so on. Any recommended tutorials/books/websites that might clue me in on some of the basics of computer architecture?

I've got a book on 6502 assembly on the way via ebay, which I think may help, but I thought I'd throw the question out as my first official query to the AA boards.

Thanks.

For example, I'm not familiar with terminology like stack, stack pointer, high and low bits, 1k and 2k boundaries, buffers, and so on.  Any recommended tutorials/books/websites that might clue me in on some of the basics of computer architecture?

A stack is a section of memory that is used as a "last in-first out" buffer. On the 6502, the stack resides from $0100-$01FF (locations 256-511 in decimal) and has its own 8-bit index register called the Stack Pointer. Since each group of 256 bytes is called a "page," the stack occupies page one. The stack is used automatically by the processor for handling subroutines and interrupts. For example, when you call a subroutine with the JSR instruction, the CPU saves the address you jumped from on the stack, so it knows where to return to when it reaches an RTS instruction. You can also put values on the stack yourself, and pull them back off (PHA, PLA). The stack normally starts at $01FF and works backwards, so a Stack Pointer of $FF would indicate an empty stack, and a stack pointer of $FE would indicate that there is one value "pushed" on the stack.

-Bry

Just to add a little bit extra to the information Bryan gave ...