IGNORED

1010 help! (1050 too - read bottom)

KulorXL

So I just picked up a 1010, but it's been less than user friendly with me...

For one, one of the bands on the inside is so old, it just fell off. I replaced it with a rubber band, which has proven to be less than perfect...

But the worst part of it is, I can't seem to save anything right. According to the manual, you have to press play and record at the same time, but I end up having to hold down both in order to get it to work. Then, when I try to load it, it gives me one of three errors: 140, 143, or 138. I'm using modern Maxell UR Position Type 1 120-minute tapes, maybe this is why? What sort of tapes can I use with the thing? Is there any special method to getting play and record to stick down at the same time?

If it helps, I plugged the tape into a tape player so I could hear what it was doing, and I got this really high-pitched screeching sound, followed by the actual data, which (I'm no expert) sounded pretty garbled, like TV static...as though it wasn't recording properly...

Any help is appreciated!

Also, I'm doing this on my standard 600XL which just came in, not the Chelco one. Once I borrow a digital camera from my friend, I can post pictures of all the differences.

Edited by KulorXL

The 1010 was a badly designed unit. The buttons have to exert too much force for the short amount of leverage they have.

Try pressing record, then press the play button until both engage.

Any half decent tapes should be fine, it might be worth giving it a head clean with VCR fluid and a cotton bud.

I've read elsewhere that dental floss can replace drive bands but have never tried it myself.

In any case, it's stone-age technology which would be well replaced with a simple $5 APE interface.

Badly designed, indeed...apparantly, I've got one of them Chelco models. Pressing play when record's already down just makes record pop back up, and vise-versa.

I'll try cleaning it, see what that does.