IGNORED

Lynx sound buffer

obschan

Hello !

I'm new in Lynx world.

I was wondering how the sound data are stored in the lynx RAM buffer.

I thought it was an 8 bits 11KHz PCM format, but seems no.

Is anybody know the answer to this question ?

Thanks in advance.

(Sorry for my poor english)

I was wondering how the sound data are stored in the lynx RAM buffer.

I thought it was an  8 bits 11KHz PCM format, but seems no.

996784[/snapback]

As Harry already mentioned, its up to the user to feed the sound registers. This means its up to you if you use 8bit signed raw data or some packed data. Also the frequency can be choosen freely, by setting the interrupt to the desired frequency. (Unpacking in interrupt is possible but maybe abit slow)

One idea that some games use is to utilise the horizontal blanking interrupt to feed the audio system with digital samples. Depending on the display frequency this gives you a samplerate of about 6KHz.

The advantage is that you won't have a seperate audio interrupt slowing the system down if you're already using the horizontal blanking interrupt for something. Roadblasters does it this way, for example.

What's very cool about the Lynx II is that it gives you full stereo panning for each of the four voices.

That's definetly one system I'd like to create a better music software for. I forget the location of the link where you can download "PDF" on subjects about the Lynx, but it's here somewhere. I think Carl Forhan had something to do with posting it, but it's definetly whorth reading... You'll find a lot good stuff the Lynx sound system in the PDF's... It's a big file size though.

Hello!