IGNORED

Hacking Galaxian into Galaga how hard would it be?

sku_u

As a fan of the 5200, I've always wished Atari had made a version of Galaga for the 5200. I am not a programmer, so this is more a curiosity to me than anything else. Would it be easier to hack Galaxian into Galaga, or would someone more or less have to start from the ground up and make a full blown homebrew to get Galaga onto this system?

While I've always thought the 7800 version was decent, the way the aliens fall is very similar to the way the Galaxian aliens fall (not arcade perfect at all) suggesting to me that at least some Galaxian code was borrowed when creating Galaga and is what sparked also my interest in this topic.

Given the recent wave of hacks for the 5200, I'm also wondering what's next now that the Pacman theme's pretty much been done to death?

As a fan of the 5200, I've always wished Atari had made a version of Galaga for the 5200. I am not a programmer, so this is more a curiosity to me than anything else. Would it be easier to hack Galaxian into Galaga, or would someone more or less have to start from the ground up and make a full blown homebrew to get Galaga onto this system?

While I've always thought the 7800 version was decent, the way the aliens fall is very similar to the way the Galaxian aliens fall (not arcade perfect at all) suggesting to me that at least some Galaxian code was borrowed when creating Galaga and is what sparked also my interest in this topic.

Given the recent wave of hacks for the 5200, I'm also wondering wha's next now that the Pacman theme's pretty much been done to death?

Don't know if it could be done, but would be really cool to have on the 5200.

Start from the ground-up.

No-holds barred, use pre-shifted sprite images, unwound code instead of loops. If it takes 64K then let it take 64K.

Using EORed software sprites in bitmap mode might be the way to go. Probably with some creative combining of PMGs as well.