IGNORED

Low Cost RGB Out for 800

Cybernoid

Does anyone know more about this modification? (see included zip).

It looks like it would be possible to drive an ST monitor with the right connection to the 13pin connector and with a simple sync separator circuit.

Also, what is the A103 chip on the 800 motherboard? Is this the GTIA? If so, does this mod just use one of the 4 luma outputs from the GTIA for each color component, one for Red, one fore Green, and one for Blue? This would be 3bit color.

rgb800.zip

There are a few RGB mods for the 800 out there, none are terribly good, I did one a long time ago with a TDA3330 which just never really as good as I wanted, but then I'm not good with analog circuits anyways....

Quite frankly, just spend the $50 and buy a composite to VGA adapter and use a VGA monitor, the image does look much crisper then on a standard composite monitor.

Curt

A301 is GTIA according to my schematic in the official printed Hardware Manual.

Looks like simple 3-bit colour from here too.

I wonder if it could be taken up a level - mix in the LUM outputs as well, although each component of R,G,B would receive the same dose.

Edited by Curt Vendel

It looks like it would be possible to drive an ST monitor with the right connection to the 13pin connector and with a simple sync separator circuit.

Also, what is the A103 chip on the 800 motherboard? Is this the GTIA? If so, does this mod just use one of the 4 luma outputs from the GTIA for each color component, one for Red, one fore Green, and one for Blue? This would be 3bit color.

rgb800.zip

This is a very interesting idea. I once built a simple logic circuit to seperate the Atari composite synch, and tied the composite luma to the R G B inputs on a SC1224 monitor. It gives a very nice BW display. Very nice to data entry and Word Processing. It might be fun to play around with this 3 bit color idea. SC1224 monitors can still be found for a decent amount.