IGNORED

Is There A Composite Mod For PAL 2600 Jr

Math You

Does anyone know if there is a composite video+audio mod for a PAL 2600 Jr? I've damaged the ferrite screw in the tuning inductor so converting it to composite is probably the only way I can get it working again.

I'm not too good with electronics so something profesionally fitted would be best.

Thanks

Matt

Does anyone know if there is a composite video+audio mod for a PAL 2600 Jr? I've damaged the ferrite screw in the tuning inductor so converting it to composite is probably the only way I can get it working again.

I'm not too good with electronics so something profesionally fitted would be best.

Yes, you just need to wire the outputs to different pins, from memory it was 2,5,7,8 on the NTSC one and 2,5,6,7 on the PAL one, maybe vice versa.

Of course converting probably costs more than a new Jr. these days...!

Of course converting probably costs more than a new Jr. these days...!

That's what I was thinking. I originally wanted a Flashback 2 but when I heard they weren't making a PAL version I bought a new 2600 Jr from France and some UK games to go with it.

It's all getting very expensive :sad: Maybe I should have stuck with the emulator.

Well, I tried the composite mod from the Atari Age website and it didn't work. There was no sound and the picture kept scrolling up. Maybe it only works with NTSC consoles or one of the other 2600 Jr's.

I did try connecting a couple of resistors together and got a very good black and white picture aswell as sound. What I don't understand is why the sound only came on when the picture was clear?

I don't suppose anyone has a pin out for the stella chip?

Thanks for the link.

I've been experimenting all day and think I've found something that works. It's all been trial and error though. At first the picture looked very bright with red looking pink and brown looking more like orange. I tried connecting another pin that made things look more natural.